SUMAC – Complete Work On Debut Album

SUMAC, the new band formed by Aaron Turner (ISIS/OLD MAN GLOOM/MAMIFFER) and drummer Nick Yacyshyn (BAPTISTS), and also featuring bassist Brian Cook (RUSSIAN CIRCLES/BOTCH/THESE ARMS ARE SNAKES), have completed work on their debut album “The Deal”.

Formed with the yearning for Aaron Turner to once again create massive, raw, heavy and brutal music while working with a new versatile drummer to bring more of a unique and progressive edge to the ideas he had, the sound SUMAC have manifested does tread familiar territory found in Turner’s previous work while creating a forward-thinking sonic monolith reminiscent of the sound found in the classic Hydra Head Records aesthetic of the late ‘90s (via such groundbreaking albums as “Until Your Heart Stops”, “We Are The Romans”, and the early days of ISIS).   With bassist Brian Cook also lending his help to bring the sound of the debut SUMAC album even more to next-level territory, “The Deal” presents quite the versatile and huge sound picture that will lay a foundation that will define SUMAC as one of the most exciting new bands in heavy music today.


Recorded in Seattle by Mell Dettmer and mixed by Kurt Ballou at Godcity Studios in Salem, MA, tracklisting for “The Deal” goes as follows:

  1. Spectral Gold
  2. Thorn In The Lions Paw
  3. Hollow King
  4. Blight End’s Angel
  5. The Deal
  6. The Radiance Of Being

“The Deal” is slated to be released on Feb 3rd on CD/Digital via Profound Lore Records and on vinyl via SIGE Records respectively.


Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop