PRURIENT Announces New Release “Rainbow Mirror” Alongside the Limited Cassette Release “Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997) ” To Coincide With 20th Anniversary

“Rainbow Mirror”, the latest work from renowned noise-music artist PRURIENT, is a release exceeding three hours in length, consisting of new PRURIENT material that delves into the more glacial, meditative, and ambient side of Dominick Fernow’s cult within the realm of noise music creating an epic of pure ‘Doom Electronics’.

“Rainbow Mirror”, which will coincide with the 20 year anniversary of PRURIENT, is a project that is steeped in history and origins, and will be released as a 4xCD and digital through Profound Lore on Dec 1st, with the 7xLP vinyl edition to be released on Hospital Productions.  The cover art for “Rainbow Mirror” is the first PRURIENT collage ever made.

Also in conspiracy with Hospital Productions to commemorate the 20th anniversary of PRURIENT, a limited cassette will be released, entitled “Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997)”. Comprised of three archival PRURIENT tracks dating back to the origins of the first tape recordings, the cassette will be released on Oct 31 (the day the first PRURIENT show occurred in 1997) and will only be available to purchase at the Hospital Productions anniversary show (where Prurient will perform in collaboration with Jesu & Nothing, tickets HERE) in Brooklyn on NY on Nov 5th and well as via direct mail order.

Like the first Prurient live performance 20 years earlier, the ‘Rainbow Mirror’ lineup consists of three members. For this ambitious work, Fernow called upon Matt Folden (Dual Action) and Jim Mroz (Lussuria) to form the trio. All of the material was recorded live in the studio and later meticulously mixed and produced at Shifted’s studio in Berlin with expert mastering by Paul Corley.

“Rainbow Mirror” marks the second alliance between Profound Lore and PRURIENT and stands as another singular monument amongst the vast repertoire Fernow has amassed under the PRURIENT moniker.  While familiar moments from the landmark “Frozen Niagara Falls” album can be found within the massive scope of “Rainbow Mirror”, through the three-plus hour duration of this rural ambient industrial creation, “Rainbow Mirror” is a monolithic crawling cinematic noise scape that brings in even more dynamics and structure through this expansive and introspective new observation.  The intense, unforgiving, trance-inducing aura of “Rainbow Mirror” is presented through waves of time-stretching electronics, layered counterpoint feedback, machine loops and extended droning, pulsating synth passages.

Like the infinite and distorted reflections produced by a hall of mirrors, “Rainbow Mirror” is a portrait in perpetual tension.

Track listing for “Rainbow Mirror”, which will also include a short story of the same name written by Scott Bryan Wilson & Fernow in the spirit of violent dreams, as follows:

Disc One:

  1. Barefoot God
  2. Walking On Dehydrated Coral
  3. Midnight Kabar
  4. Chaos – Sex

Disc Two:

  1. Falling In The Water
  2. Okinawan Burial Vaults
  3. April Fool’s Day Aspect Sinister
  4. Cruel Worlds

Disc Three:

  1. Naturecum
  2. Blue Kimono Over Corpse
  3. Path Is Short
  4. Buddha Strangled In Vines (Part One)
  5. Buddah Strangled In Vines (Part Two)

Disc Four (Bonus CD exclusive to the CD version):

  1. Lazarus Flamethrower Sleepwalk (bonus track)
  2. Buddhist State (bonus track)

Track listing for the “Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997)” cassette (which will include the very first PRURIENT liner notes ever written for any PRURIENT release) as follows:

  1. Rainbow Mirror
  2. Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997)
  3. What Will Be Our Ruin?

Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop