HELEN MONEY – Completes Work On New Album, New MP3 Available

Cellist Alison Chesley has completed work on her new album under her HELEN MONEY alias entitled “Arriving Angels”.

Engineered and mixed at Electrical Audio by legendary music icon Steve Albini, and featuring drummer Jason Roeder (of Neurosis and Sleep) on drums on four songs, “Arriving Angels”, which follows up her 2009 release “In Tune”, sees Chesley create her most dense and varying work to date.  Armed with her cello and an assortment of pedals, Chesley uses and applies her instrument in unconventional, unique, ethereal and ominous ways, through the vessel of mixing such influences as classical, chamber, and experimental music respectively.

About “Arriving Angels”, Chesley had this to say:  “Arriving Angels means a lot to me for so many reasons.  It’s a culmination of two years of continuing to explore ideas with my instrument and effects – expressing a lot of changes in my life. Being able to work with Steve — someone I’ve toured with repeatedly over the past few years, and who was able to help me fully realize what I wanted to achieve with my music on this record — was very gratifying.”

In 2011 Helen Money was chosen by Portishead to perform at the ATP ‘I’ll Be Your Mirror’ and toured with Joe Lally (Fugazi) as both support and performing in his band nightly. In addition to supporting Shellac on tour in 2012, Helen Money has shared bills with Earth, Nina Nastasia, The Bad Plus, KTL and Hunn Huur Tu. With her previous band, Verbow, she opened for Frank Black, Bob Mould, Counting Crows, Live, Morrissey, Liz Phair and Brad with Stone Gossard of Pearl Jam. Verbow toured nationally for seven years.  Just a few days ago, Helen Money just completed All Tomorrow’s Parties (ATP) ‘Nightmare Before Christmas’ shows in Camber Sands, England (curated by Shellac).

To be released officially on Feb 05, 2013, tracklisting for “Arriving Angels” goes as follows:

  1. Rift
  2. Upsetter
  3. Beautiful Friends
  4. Radio Recorders
  5. Midwestern Nights Dream
  6. Arriving Angels
  7. Shrapnel
  8. Runout

You can check out the song “Beautiful Friends” here:


Your shopping cart is empty
Visit the shop